Chat with us, powered by LiveChat

Gold fields notes

The survey included eight major mining centres. These are listed together with the Chinese names used by the miners.

  • Bendigo             大金山, 品地溝
  • Balarat                巴拉辣, 叭拉辣, 巴辣, 孖辣
  • Beechworth    茵陳坑, 必自活
  • Castlemaine    加市哏
  • Ararat                 亞辣
  • Daylesford
  • Maryborough 陜慎
  • Avoca

As gold fields are scattered over a geographic area, the survey had grouped these into districts. Please note that

  • Beechworth included all Buckland Ovens river area.
  • Balarat statistics also included Smythesdale.
  • Dalyesford district also include the Blackwood, Hepburn area.
  • Mopoke, Baker’s Creek, Golden Point and Diamond Gully were counted as Castlemaine.
  • Bendigo was then referred to as Sandhurst.

There were other gold fields that were not recorded in the survey. These included Stawell, Nine Mice Creek, Maldon, Yackandandat and Geelong.


Early Chinese migrants